Stupidity

Oct. 22nd, 2004 09:53 am
leftyjew: (Default)
[personal profile] leftyjew

So I was retarted. As you may or may not know, I am lactose intolerant. I wasn't this way until I turned 21 and spent 9 months in China not drinking milk. It pissed me off then and pisses me off now. I also think I may have a digestive allergy to eggs and that bugs me too, but this post isn't about eggs, it's about lactose.

Last night, I really wanted pizza. Not a problem for most, but since I keep kosher, there's only 2 places in DC Metro that I can go to - Ben Yehuda's in Wheaton and Siena's in White Flint/Rockville. Since I work in Van Ness Siena's is much closer via Metro, so I had really one option. Anyway. I called up a friend who really wanted pizza but didn't have time, and another who didn't really want food or transportation. And others who just don't answer their phones. Eventually, I just head up there and grab a 14" for myself and the first friend (she'll come by later that night to eat her share). The pizza's okay (the onions and peppers were diced/chopped, not rings, and the pizza itself isn't terrific), but it's been about 4 months since I've had anything, so it's great. I have a slice, take 3 Dairy Eases, and have another 2 slices. Then a fourth slice. Wow. Stuffed. A bit goes by, I call up the cell company to get my bill straightened out (long story) and said friend comes by... with Krispy Kremes. Two donuts and a glass of Lactaid later and I'm feeling bloated. (Anyone who's lactose intolerant that Lactaid has no effect on isn't really lactose intolerant).

Okay, so I walk it off a bit and head to bed. This morning, what do I decide to have for breakfast? A bagel (my usual). But what do I put on it? Well, the other day after my raise, I saw lox in the grocery store and decided to splurge. Okay, so lox. But what goes on a bagel with lox? You guessed it - cream cheese! (I never like cream cheese until I foudn out it was the only spread to put on bagels in DC - no one even offers margarine or butter.) What a fucking moron I am.

Anyway, so I'm in a crappy mood today for that reason. However, the bagel was more than worth it. And the pizza wasn't bad either. Ah. It's my cross to bear. Every Jew needs one, right? ;)

Date: 2005-01-06 02:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] estherchaya.livejournal.com
there's only 2 places in DC Metro that I can go to - Ben Yehuda's in Wheaton and Siena's in White Flint/Rockville.

Not so. There's also NutHouse Pizza in Wheaton. I've never been there. Some people say it's disgusting. Some people say it's delicious. I can't decide who I trust.

Nuthouse pizza > Ben Yehuda

Date: 2005-01-20 09:08 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
Nuthouse rocks! And this is coming from me, and I'm a good source, so I should be trusted. Even though I'm anonymous. Ooh, how scandalous.

Profile

leftyjew: (Default)
leftyjew

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021 222324
252627 28293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 10:24 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios